Setting Up Users and Defining Roles in the Parallels Small Business Panel

As an administrator in the Parallels Small Business Panel, you can create users and assign roles to them. The roles you assign define each user's permissions on the server.

After creating a user, that person can log in to the control panel and manage settings from the My Services tab. Even if no permissions are assigned, users still have access to their personal file share and any shared files that other users have uploaded into the shared directory. They can also view the user names and email addresses of other users on the system.

Understanding Permissions

The permissions you assign to user roles let you specify access levels. For example, you can assign permissions that allow the webmaster in your organization to publish files to the Web, and manage websites and domain names.

Refer to the role descriptions below to determine which permissions you should assign.

Manage users
Add new and modify existing users. Delete any user, except the admin and their account.
Manage roles
Add new and modify existing user roles. Delete user roles if there are no users assigned.
Manage websites and domains
Add new domains, create and publish websites, create databases, modify DNS, manage site files, and perform any task related to the creation and management of a website.
Change server settings
Manage the server. Includes configuring the server, adding SSL certificates, performing backups, restarting the server, modifying file sharing settings, clearing application cache, modifying firewall settings, mail settings, and more.
Install and manage applications
Install new applications and manage existing applications.
Manage mail
Create new email addresses, manage existing email addresses, and manage and create mailing lists.
Update personal information
Update portions of personal information. Without this permission, users cannot change their contact name and contact details. Users can only modify their password and manage their email forwarding preferences if this permission is not assigned.
Publish files on the Web
Access Public Files on the Files tab. This lets a user publish files available for public consumption, such as those you might want to distribute to clients.

Managing Users and Roles

Creating users lets you to give other people access to your network. When you create a user, you assign an email address and a role. You can create an email address based off a domain you added, or, you can use another email address. The role you assign the user affects the access to the control panel. Add your user roles first, and then add users and assign roles to them.

To Add a User Role

  1. Log in to the control panel and click Users.
  2. Go to the User Roles tab and then click Create User Role.
  3. Enter a name for the role, and then select the permissions you want to assign.
  4. Click OK.

To Delete a User Role

  1. Log in to the control panel and click Users.
  2. Go to the User Roles tab, and then select the user role you want to delete.
  3. Click Remove, and then click Yes.

To Add a User

  1. Log in to the control panel and click Users.
  2. Click Create New User Account.
  3. Complete the fields, making sure to assign the correct user role.
  4. Click OK.

To Delete a User

  1. Log in to the control panel and click Users.
  2. Select the user you want to delete.
  3. Click Remove, and then click Yes.

Hjalp denne artikel?
Tak for din feedback.
Det glæder os, at vi kunne hjælpe! Er der andet, vi kan gøre for dig?
Beklager. Er der andet, vi kan gøre for at hjælpe dig?